Studio Origins.

02Sep11

Wedding Photography Cornwall: Prior to February 1989 I had very little interest in the photography world. I owned a SLR film camera and had a basic understanding of how to use it but photography was far from being a pastime activity of mine.  One of the two photographers in Cheam, the local village, was Ken Beattie Photographics.  It was a few doors away from my father’s shop and so for convenience I visited Ken with my occasional roll of film for printing.  While filling a time gap at Dickens & Jones in Epsom, as a menswear salesman, Ken visited the store and came across my path. The result of that meeting and a further one a few days on back at the store cafe, was my commencement as his apprentice photographer and shop manager. For the next twelve years I had the privilege of learning wedding photography from a true professional and becoming an experienced manager able to maintain the regular workflow from day to day.  My next step onward was the formation of my own business which is still named Jeff Murton Studios to this day. It was a relief for Ken from a business aspect, that I decided to open a studio in East Sussex. On 31st. August 2000 I moved with family to Horam village which is 20 minutes drive from Eastbourne.  Seven good years followed for the business there until being called to the studio’s present premises in St.Columb Major Cornwall in January 2008. Apart from being a wedding photography and portrait photography cornwall studio, it has also branched out more into PR photography, surfing photography, etc… – see other blogs/news articles.

